OnToContent 2006 PC Co-chairs' Message

Welcome to the proceedings of the first international workshop on ontology content and evaluation in enterprise (OnToContent 2006). This book reflects the issues raised and presented during the workshop, which paid attention to ontology content, specially ontologies in human resources and employment, and healthcare and life sciences.

This workshop was organized and partially funded by the Ontology Outreach Advisory OOA (Knowledge Web NoE, FP6-507482). The OOA is devoted to developing strategies for ontology recommendation and standardization, thereby promoting and providing outreach for verifiable quality ontological content.

This first year, a total of 35 papers were submitted to OnToContent. Each submission was reviewed by two to four experts. The papers were judged according to their originality, validity, significance to theory and practice, readability and organization, and relevancy to the workshop topics and beyond. This resulted in the selection of 12 papers for presentation at the workshop and publication in these proceedings (34% acceptance rate). We feel that these proceedings will inspire further research and create an intense following. The Program Committee comprised: Adil Hameed, Alain Leger, Aldo Gangemi, André Valente, Andrew Stranieri, Avigdor Gal, Barry Smith, Bill Andersen, Bob Colomb, Christiane Fellbaum, Christopher Brewster, Ernesto Damiani, Fausto Giunchiglia, Francesco Danza, Francky Trichet, Giancarlo Guizzardi, Giorgos Stamou, Hans Akkermans, Harith Alani, Jeff Pan, Jens Lemcke, John Sowa, Joost Breuker, Karl Stroetmann, Kewen Wang, Luk Vervenne, Lina Al-Jadir, Miguel-Angel Sicilia, Mohand-Said Hacid, Nikolay Mehandjiev, Paolo Bouquet, Paul Piwek, Robert Meersman, Robert Tolksdorf, Sergio Tessaris, Silvie Spreeuwenberg, Simon White, Stephen McGibbon, Theo Mensen, Yannick Legré, Yannis Charalabidis, Yaser Bishr.

We would like to express our deepest appreciation to the authors of the submitted papers and thank all the workshop attendees and the Program Committee members for their dedication and assistance in creating our program and turning the workshop into a success. Producing this book would not have been possible without the much-appreciated contribution of Pilar Herrero, Peter Dimopoulos, and Kwong Lai.

Thank you and we hope you will enjoy the papers as much as we do.

August 2006

Mustafa Jarrar, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium Claude Ostyn, IEEE-LTSC, USA Werner Ceusters, University of Buffalo, USA Andreas Persidis, Biovista, Greece